Posted by: funk. | May 26, 2010

I want to go to Australia

Look at that Face! (from starpulse.com)

I have always had this dream of visiting Australia and New Zealand.  There is such beauty there…and I flippin’ lot of deadly creatures.  Let’s put the scary snakes, critters, and jungle-ness aside.  I love the idea of hiking and snorkeling and being in nature while still having the chance to visit awesome cities.  I feel like Australia/New Zealand has got it all.  Now I just need the money to travel over there!

When I think of musicians that have come out this part of the world I come up blank.  A few months ago I was driving to a doctor’s appointment when I heard (what I thought was a Brit voice) Daniel Merriweather on the radio.  Thank you Shazam!!!  You always pull through in a pinch.

Merriweather was born in Sydney, Australia.  So my stupid ass thought that his soulful voice was British when in fact it is Australian.  Doh!  He first got attention from doing a few successful collaborations with Mark Ronson.  This led to him going out on his own and putting together, Love and War, his first solo album.  He has toured with some great artists such as Justin Timberlake, Mark Ronson, Kanye West, Corinne Bailey Rae, and my personal favorite, Biz Markie.

According to Merriweather himself, his music is influenced by the likes of Stevie Wonder, Herbie Hancock, Michael Jackson, and Jeff Buckley.  His music is often linked to the word R n B and soul…and for the most part I agree.  When I say R&B I am talking old school R&B–think 1960’s not Mary J. Blige.    Think retro soul.  If you are looking for the male version of Adele and Amy Winehouse look no further; I’ve found your man.  A super chilled out, less funky Jamie Lidell (think earrrrrlier Multiply not Compass)–this is it.

Oh–I forgot to give my personal opinion.  I dig the album.  It is an easy listen.  Great for relaxation and doing homework.  The only glitch I see is that it needs maybe a little more “umph”.  Every so often I feel a lull.  With that being said, I love a good soulful boy’s voice to get my heart all giddy.

Daniel Merriweather ft. Wale “Change”

Daniel Merriweather “Red”

Leave a Reply

Categories

