Posted by: funk. | April 16, 2010

My Best Friend is You

That is the title of Kate Nash‘s new album.  It is hard to say what I think.  It is very similar to the last one.  Which, to many fans, will be awesome.  Maybe I am being unfair.  I mean, I’m only on the third track as I write this.  Maybe I am speaking writing too soon…

I guess the reason why I am kinda feeling blah about this album is because Kate Nash‘s popular previous album, ‘Made of Bricks’, came out at this perfect time.  There was Lily Allen, who I think somewhat set the stage for outspoken British singer-songwriters, and Adele.  And then out came Kate Nash with her own spin on the British girl singer-songwriter thing.  She got famous through MySpace just like Lilly Allen did.  The two of them basically brought each other to fame by supporting each other on their MySpace sites.  Lily Allen just got a bit of a running start ahead of Ms. Nash somehow.  She sang with her cute accent and spoke quickly, heartfelt, and cursed every so often and was nifty on the piano.  When I heard her lyrics they spoke to me.  The boy bashing bullshit caught my attention.  And then in America, out came Sara Bareilles, Ingrid Michaelson, and Colby Caillat.  Yes, they had been around a bit but the sudden surge of female singer-songwriters brought them all out for everyone to hear.  VH1 watching was probably at an all-time high!

But now that style isn’t as strong as it was one or two years ago…at least not to me.  Don’t get me wrong I still love Made of Bricks and I still love the first Lily Allen cd…and I LOVE Adele.  But, just like I felt about Lily Allen‘s follow up album, this album just isn’t giving me the goods–the yummy freshness and obsession that a great, freshly opened cd/vinyl gives you.  That awesome feeling when you start listening to the first track and come to the realization that you and this album are a match.  It is like a new relationship where you just start dating and you have the realization that the two of you are made for each other.  I guess I am being harsh because I thought that me and Kate had an understanding of each other and now I feel let down.  The first bit of time we were doing do well and now we are totally out of the honeymoon phase.  Bummer.

I feel like telling her– you need to bring just a little bit more to the table because everyone already bit your style.  And, well, I don’t know if Kate Nash went with the changes.  Believe me, I don’t like saying it.  I want to love this cd.  I want to want to put it on repeat as I drive in traffic–all the while mouthing the words and screaming out the curse words.  But I don’t think I will.

Anyway…I think I am gonna give the cd another quick go around.

Don’t let me make your decisions.  Listen to/Watch the video.

Here is the video for her first single from the album.
“Do-Wah-Doo”

Leave a Reply

Categories

