Posted by: funk. | December 16, 2009

Psychic Chasms

from Neon Indian's MySpace Page

I don’t know if I mentioned this but a couple months ago I got a membership to eMusic…a place to legally download music online.  Ibet you didn’t even know a place like that existed.  Anyway, it is a monthly membership where I can download a certain amount of tracks per month.  Still on the fence on whether I’ll keep it but for now it is a go.

One of the albums I kept going back to was Psychic Chasms by Neon Indian.  For no reason it just spoke to me.  Honestly, I think it was the cover–nice, bright, and geometric.  But I never did because I worried that if I miss spent my downloads I would regret.  Plus, I hate following the hype of others.  I like to come to my own conclusions.  So, instead, the album just stared at me on my computer screen…until recently.  I finally downloaded it!  And there are no regrets!

Neon Indian aka Alan Palomo is a 21 year-old Mexican guy who was raised in Austin, Texas and currently resides in Brooklyn, New York.  You may also recognize the youngin’ as VEGA.  Wait, VEGA is a one-man electronic group whereas Neon Indian is not.  Palomo enlisted Alicia Scardetta for help with the band visually.  You know how it goes–elecctronic shit has to be fun for the eyes as well as the ears!  Scardetta was his high school friend who was able to come up with rad projections as well as some videos.  And the pairing is a perfect fit…even if you never really see her.  I would like to give her some credit because her existence in the band is kind of m.i.a.

Don’t be mistaken though, Vega and Neon Indian are not the same.  In my opinion, Neon Indian is more fun and more hip.  I mean, how could you not love songs with titles like “Should’ve Taken Acid with You” and “6699 (Don’t Know if You Know“?

The song that I have for you to listen to is “Deadbeat Summer.”  I think it is an easy-on-the-ears, enjoyed by all type song.  It is one of those songs that bloggers and hipsters die over.  Don’t hate it because I said that…. I promise, it is good.

Psychic Chasms by Neon Indian

“Deadbeat Summer” by Neon Indian

I really like this YouTube video interview of the band.

Responses

  1. Great post! I agree, Neon Indian is by far more fun and hip. I had the chance to see them live this year and they did not disappoint.

    • That is awesome! I’d love to see a live show..just waiting for the opportunity!


Leave a Reply

Categories

