Posted by: funk. | October 7, 2009

The xx

the xx

the xx

Have really gotten my attention in the last…10 minutes.  Whenever my brother fully enodrses a band my ears perk up.  He has good taste.  And let me tell you, to get some information about the band was not an easy feat!  Right now I have8 tabs opens just to simply learn more about them.  So here is what I can tell you about them…

The band has been together since 2005 and is comprised of four 20 year olds that met at quite the musically talented in England.  I say this because both Hot Chip and Four Tet came from Elliott School.  This year in August they released their first album, xx, on Young Turks and it made it on NME‘s “The Future 50 List.”  And to me, that sounds about right.  I think that the band is just starting to get the attention deserved.

I first listened to the single “Crystalised” and there was something familiar about it…but I can’t seem to put my finger on it.  The sound was reminiscent of something I listened to in my childhood and yet I ccan’t figure it out.  It is something about the girl’s voice.  But I like it. Both Rough Trade and my brother say the influence comes from Young Marble Giants but I listened to a song and don’t totally hear it.  So I dunno…give it a listen and try to figure out who I am thinking of because I cant seem to.

Leave a Reply

Categories

