Posted by: funk. | October 5, 2009

Kid Cudi

Kid Cudi

Kid Cudi

Man on the Moon: The End of Day (album cover art)

Man on the Moon: The End of Day (album cover art)

There is something about him that keeps my attention.  I’m a person that appreciates FM radio for what it is–driving music.  Pop music/main stream music has never been they type of music to kill brain cells or test my intelligence.  It is music for enjoyment.  And then there the auto tune musicians that make me want to vomit.  Full disclosure— I don’t get the hype with T Pain and Lil Wayne.  I will also admit that I haven’t taken the time to really listen.  I get annoyed too quickly.

So I am a little surprised with my intrigue in Kid Cudi.  I think I really got into him when he was on the Poke Her Face remix with Kanye and Common.  Suddenly he wasn’t just another KIIS FM artist that was on the air every 3.2 minutes.  Thank the heavens.  “Day N Nite” was getting old quick and Kid Cudi was going down in my ranking.  But my attention was sparked once again.

Why am I rambling on and on?  Because I really like his new album, Man on the Moon: The End of Day.  It has a nice groove to it.  Usually I like faster paced rap music but the slower tracks are just as good on this album.  However, there is some tracks that feel like wasted space..just push the skip button on those.  You’ll know them when they hit.

And can I make a side note to this?  If you are a Pitchfork or die person, try to look beyond that.  This album is better than 4.1.  I am trying to stop myself from ranting but here it goes—Pitchfork’s reviews are opinion based.  So use them as guides but don;t worship them like a Bible.  Use your own senses.  Make your own opinions.  Read the reviews to learn about someones opinion.  And if you want more legit information that isn’t too judgmental, go to http://allmusic.com.  There you’ll get simple, useful information.  Don’t get me wrong…I like Pitchfork.  I’m just tired of going back and forth with people about music choices that they base solely on a website. 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

