Posted by: funk. | October 2, 2009

Humbug is turning me into Scrooge

I know… this has been long overdue.  What can I say?  Sometimes life smacks you in the face and ya just gotta get shit done.  That is what happened to me!  If you wanted a little insight into my normal day-to-day life, I am going to school to be an elementary school teacher.  And that shit ain’t easy.  You’d think that it’d be easy to learn the stuff that you need to teach young kids but it is actually full of standards, cognitive theories, lesson planning, blah, blah blah.  So yeah, I have been focused on my school work.  But now that I have been in school a few weeks, I think I just might finally be in the swing of things.  I have found my balance.  So expect a blog postings every other day…and then maybe I can start building on that.

arctic-monkeys

Moving right along…

So how do you feel about it?  I am mixed.  Well, if I am being honest, I am not really a big fan of Humbug.  I have had the CD in my car for a while now and every so often I pop it into the good ole CD player hoping for it to start and suddenly just rock my world…but it never does.  I read a review once by my school’s newspaper, The Union Weekly, and it was actually good.  I think they brought up broadening horizons and trying something new.  Fuck that.  I like it when artists/bands try something new but sometimes it just doesn’t work.  And for me, this time around, it didn’t work. What a bummer.  I love that Brit band but this time I was under enthused. Why you ask?  The melodies weren’t as catchy and the whole Cd, overall, was slow.  Nothing to bump your head to and no lyrics to start memorizing unintentionally.  And if there aren’t a few tracks like that on the CD, to me, I am not listening to the Arctic Monkeys.  But hey, you should make your own opinion.  You might like it.  🙂

Responses

  1. hello,

    thanks for the great quality of your blog, each time i come here, i’m amazed.

    black hattitude.


Leave a Reply

Categories

