Posted by: funk. | September 17, 2009

I think I am in Love…

with a few CD’s that I picked up.  Each will get its own entry but let me tell you…they are all TO DIE FOR!

Album Art.

Album Art.

So— I know I’ve mentioned the Monsters of Folk cd before.  But let me tell you, the built up anticipation of this album is well worth it.  I guess it is the simplicity of the album.  And no, simplicity does not mean boring.  In fact, the truth of the matter is that there are many layers of instruments, voices, etc but together they create one cohesive unit of beauty.  And somehow, the result creates a simple harmonious sound that in truth is actually quite complicated.  Gotta love that.

The first track, “Dear God (Sincerely M.O.F.)” has Yim and Matt on vocals…. Yim’s voice in falsetto just tears at the heart…as do the words.

dear god…i’m trying hard to reach you.
dear god…i see your face in all i do.
sometimes…it’s so hard to believe in…
but god…i know you have your reasons

dear god…i see you move the mountains…
dear god…i see you move the trees…
sometimes….it’s nothin to believe in…
sometimes…it’s everything i see.

well i been thinkin about it…
and i been breakin it down…
without an answer.
i know i’m thinkin out loud.
but if your love’s still around…
why do we suffer?

dear god…i wish that i could touch you.
how strange…sometimes i feel i almost do.
but then, i’m back behind the glass again.
oh god…what keeps you out it keeps me in.

well i been thinkin about it…
and i been breakin it down…
without an answer.
i know i’m thinkin out loud.
but if your love’s still around…
why do we suffer?

Dying, right?  Speaks volumes to your thoughts?  Yeah, me too.  Here is a little secret about that track.  If you hear a sample and it sounds familiar, it is because it is from  Trevor Dandy‘s “Is There Any Love“–another great song and the whole theme/words of it fits so well with the song M.O.F wrote.

I could write for days on this album.  It isn’t just the tunes and musicianship but also the WORDS.  Each song has meaning and speaks to everyone.  So I guess what I am saying is–don’t just buy it on iTunes but instead by the hard copy so you can see the lyrics and truly enjoy the album.

But let me remind you, the name of the band rings true.  This IS for the most part folk music.  With that being said, I think everyone can enjoy it.

Responses

  1. If you are into this then you should check out Sea Wolf’s new album… it is incredible.

  2. got it and LOVE IT!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

