Posted by: funk. | August 14, 2009

They are MONSTERS!

MonstersOfFolk

Monsters of Folk, that is.  I think I’ve talked about ’em before.  Monsters of Folk is comprised of Matt Ward (M. Ward, She & Him), Conor Oberst (Bright Eyes,  & Conor Oberst & the Mystic Valley Band), Jim James (My Morning Jacket), and Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes…and he has performed/produced on many albums–Rilo Kiley, Rachel Yamagata, Cursive, etc.).  So you can see, these boys are pretty fuckin’ awesome.  AWESOMMMME!  Therefore, there has been a TON of anticipation for the tracks that were/are to coming out.  I mean, who is going to be lead vocalist?  Are they just gonna switch out?  Is one style going to be prevalent?  Or, is each track going to be like the band that the artist belongs to? Or–what if it just sucked ass!  Woaaaa–that has to be impossible…

I would have to say that I am torn.  Currently on their Myspace you can listen to three tracks.  At first I felt  surprised that no artist was incredibly prevalent.  But when I heard “The Sandman, The Brakeman” I was surprised that it wasn’t straight off of Hold Time…’cause it could’ve been.  Same style, same feeling.  Was this just a Hold Time reject?  Oh well, I don’t care…I still liked the track and I suppose at the end of the day that is all that matter.

Don’t let me deter you.  The songs are of pure beauty.  I especially liked “Dear God (sincerely M.O.F.).”  Mr. MyMorningJacket did some awesome falsetto and there was a nice beat kicking in the background of the track. Yummy goodness.  Overall, from the three tracks I listened to, I came to realize that Matt Ward is the main singer although others get in there and get on the microphone too.  That is the way I like it.  I like when each musician’s voice gets a chance in a band rather than it being just one frontman.  But with that being said, it can also lead to an incredible fuck up because listeners get confused if the overall style is lost.  The band still needs an identity and sometimes it can get lost when everyone jumps in as front man.

Don’t worry my friends, this is not the case with Monsters of Folk. No, no–not at all.

Here is “Say Please“–a wonderful track.  I haven’t had time to download “Dear God” so you can check that out on their MySpace…it is seriously so tasty.

Oh!  And, they are touring.  So get in on that too!

Oct 13 2009 8:00P
Orpheum Vancouver, BC
Oct 14 2009 8:00P
Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall Portland, OR
Oct 15 2009 8:00P
Paramount Theatre Seattle, WA
Oct 17 2009 8:00P
Fox Theater Oakland, CA
Oct 18 2009 8:00P
The Greek Theatre Los Angeles, CA
Oct 20 2009 8:00P
Spreckels Theatre San Diego, CA
Oct 21 2009 8:00P
Orpheum Theater Phoenix, AZ
Oct 22 2009 8:00P
Santa Barbara Bowl Santa Barbara, CA
Oct 28 2009 8:00P
Holland Center Omaha, NE
Oct 29 2009 8:00P
Orpheum Theatre Minneapolis, MN
Oct 30 2009 8:00P
Auditorium Theatre Chicago, IL
Oct 31 2009 8:00P
Louisville Palace Theatre Lousiville, KY
Nov 2 2009 8:00P
Massey Hall Toronto, ON
Nov 3 2009 8:00P
The Orpheum Boston, MA
Nov 6 2009 8:00P
United Palace New York, NY
Nov 8 2009 8:00P
Beacon Theater New York, NY
Nov 9 2009 8:00P
Academy of Music Philadelphia, PA
Nov 12 2009 8:00P
Philadelphia Church Stockholm, SE
Nov 14 2009 8:00P
Huxleys Berlin, DE
Nov 15 2009 8:00P
Vega Copenhagen, DK
Nov 17 2009 8:00P
Troxy London, UK
Nov 18 2009 8:00P
Elysee Montmarte Paris, FR
Nov 19 2009 8:00P
E-Werk Koln, DE
Nov 21 2009 8:00P
Crossing Border The Hague, NL
Nov 22 2009 8:00P
Crossing Border Antwerp, BE
Leave a Reply

Categories

