Posted by: funk. | August 7, 2009

RIP John Hughes

John Hughes..I think this is while filing Pretty in Pink due to Annie Potts on the side.

John Hughes..I think this is while filing Pretty in Pink due to Annie Potts on the side.

I found out yesterday that he passed.  I actually took a moment to pause and think about how his movies surrounded me while growing up. Although he was a writer and director of cult classic movies, he also brought tons of great music to the big screen.  Tons.  Think of all the great music in his movies–The Breakfast Club, Pretty in Pink, Sixteen Candles, Home Alone (I and II), Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Some Kind of Wonderful, Weird Science…the list goes on and on.

When I was a kid I watched all the John Hughes films.  As the youngest of four the Brat Pack were regularly on our ridiculously large tv screen.  When you’re brothers are in college and you are only five years of age, it is obvious who wins over the tv clicker.  And I thank them.  Hughes‘ movies are the classics of my generation..well, maybe the generation before me but hey, I adopted them as my own.  The writing, the acting, the overall themes relate to everyone.  And the soundtracks are killlllller.

I had a rough time finding music that I could grab so I found a few on YouTube.  The second one with Ducky is CLASSIC.  A must watch.  I tried so hard to find The Breakfast Club scene that my sister used to always quote.  “Stupid, worthless, no good, god damn, free-loading son of a bitch…”  Hahaha.  On my Facebook I posted a few Lon Duc Dong clips. Memories.  There are so– many of ’em surrounded by his movies.

Try a Little Tenderness by Otis Redding—this is Ducky’s version!!! Hahaha..one of the best scenes to me in the record store

Pretty in Pink by The Psychedelic Furs

Love Missile F1-11 by Sigue, Sigue Sputnik

Responses

  1. I loved those movies, sad to see another iconic figure pass away too soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

