Posted by: funk. | July 13, 2009

So I got this email today…

and it kinda annoyed me.  Mind you, I get a lot of dumb email sent to the radio station.  I mean, it is a radio station so everyone you could ever think is looking for their five seconds on the station…especially a college radio station linked to a huge university like Cal State-Long Beach.

On top of that Michael Jackson is on every single television station.  I mean, all of them.  And I will be the first to admit that I get sucked in.  I watched 3 hours of MJ just the other day and then had to peel myself off the couch in order to be productive.

So now you are asking–How the hell do this girls email and Michael Jackson go together?

Well, this guy that always sends me random questionnaires (that I never fill out) asked me who I thought was the next King of Pop.  It wasn’t a fill in the blank question–I had to choose from the options.  Who were my four choices?  Justin Timberlake, Usher, or Hannah Montana.  What??  First of all, I don’t think that after death your title is taken away from you…even if it is a celebrity title…I mean, Queen Elizabeth will always be referred to as the Queen.  But, Elvis is still called The King, right?  People didn’t refuse to use that name because he died di they?  So wouldn’t that be the same for Michael?

Furthermore–how in the world would Hannah Montana replace him?  She has been alive for less years than the amount of time that he has put out music.  His music attracts all ages and ethnicities.  Does Miley Cyrus do the same?!?!  Same goes for Usher.  I love ’em but he ain’t the King of anything.  Especially after “In This Club.”  Great, fun song but it just proved to me that he is becoming more generic.  Justin Timberlake is the closest runner but even he can’t top Michael.  He might someday become something like a Michael Jackson but he has years to make it to that caliber.  Mmmm.  Justin Timberlake.  I give a nod towards Timberlake because he creates new styles.  People look to him to come up with something new.  Like Michael, he has the style, the moves, the voice, and that innate ability to entertain.

But in my opinion, there is only one King of Pop and that is Michael Jackson.  DUH!

Responses

  1. If fucking Montana is the next King of pop I will stop listening to music all together


Leave a Reply

Categories

