Posted by: funk. | June 9, 2009

Smashing Pumpkins search for a new drummer.

Billy Corgan

Billy Corgan

So— I don’t know if you know this or not but a few months ago, to be exact–in March, the original drummer of the Smashing Pumpkins, Jimmy Chamberlin, quit.  This makes Billy Corgan the only original member of the band left.  Ouch!  If all the members of a band peace out except for one does that insinuate that the remaining member is an asshole or maybe nuts?  To go off track a little bit more– it is hard to follow a band that is always switching out members; it is impossible to ask the replacements to retain the sound… I mean, who wants to have their art stifled in order to copycat the previous musician?  But hey, if there is a true fit, the band will probably do well.  To me, the Smashing Pumpkins reached their peak when I was in middle school.  And… well, I am 25 now so you can guess how I feel.  But hey, there is still a little piece of my heart that beats for Mr. Corgan.

So yeah, Billy Corgan is the lone original soldier; the only nasally voiced member left.  Corgan announced that he was going to hold open auditions to find the missing piece of his band.  Who got the part, you ask?  According to a site called Hipsters United, Corgan found his match in a 19 year old freshman at Berklee College of MusicMike Byrne, the possible drummer-to-be plays drums for a band called Moses, Smell the Roses and to be honest, he is pretty good.  Corgan himself stated in his blog:  “I think I have my drummer of the future. I’ve worked with him so far for one week and all indications are really good that he’s the man for the job. Going to work with him some more before it becomes official.”  Anyone who graduates from Berklee College of Music or even gets into the school has my respect because I almost went there myself to study Music Business.  The school is rad and has an awesome vocal jazz program too.

On a side note, Billy Corgan is 42.  It is gonna be intense to work with someone who is fresh out of high school.  But, maybe he will bring something fresh to the band—so sort of innocence.  But hey, if you are dreaming of being a drummer for Smashing Pumpkins, don’t give up!  This shit isn’t official…yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

