Posted by: funk. | June 2, 2009

Finally.

For some reason this photo caught my attention.

For some reason this photo caught my attention.

A few months ago I realized that absolutely NONE of The Beatles music is available on iTunes–well, you can get karaoke shit and the Across the Universe soundtrack but as far as the original stuff, there is nothing there.  I always thought that was interesting.  I never got all huffy puffy abut it because, personally, I think that is music that I would like a hard copy of and unfortunately, purchases on iTunes can’t satisfy that feeling.  There are a slew of other classics that aren’t there also–I believe Elvis Presley and Michael Jackson are a couple but don’t quote me because I didn’t check before typing this.

I don't think this is the official cover or anything...just something I ran across.

I don't think this is the official cover or anything...just something I ran across.

Anyway, on September 9th, their entire catalog will be available on iTunes for purchase.  Also, that is the day that The Beatles: Rock Band comes out—which I think is totally exciting.  45 classics ready to be played by others.  Some people are haters of the Rock Band and Guitar Hero because it isn’t the true art of playing an instrument; I think that they feel that the games make a mockery of what is supposed to be an learned art.  Which is kinda true.  But hey, I am/was a singer and I don’t get offended when people do karaoke.  I mean, I don’t get pissed because he or she didn’t take vocal lessons and learn the difference between a minor third and a major fifth.  A game is a game and when it is fun it is fun.  Don’t think too hard, you’ll hurt brain cells.  Plus, there are many musicians that are perfectly fine with the games and don’t find it offensive.

Anyway, blah blah blah blah.  So September 9th.  Remember the day.  You can either buy some Beatles on iTunes or play ’em on Rock Band.

On a quick side note, on this new release for Rockband, there are 3 part harmonies.  Wooohhaaaaa.  Could get dangerous folks.

Responses

  1. so stoked for the game, and if I didn’t have most of their albums on vinyl or cd, I’d hop on that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

