Posted by: funk. | May 15, 2009

Sparklehorse + Danger Mouse


So lately there has been a lot of talk about a collaboration between Danger Mouse (you know, the guy who did The Grey Album and collaborated with MF Doom to create…Danger Doom) and Sparklehorse‘s Mark Linkous…but more than anything else it has just been speculation.  The source that I was able to get the most information from was NPR‘s Exclusive First Listen Series–there you can stream the album prior to its actual release.  On a side note, they do this for multiple albums and it is a great source for new music.

Anyway, this album between the two is titled Dark Night of the Soul and recently I learned that there is a slew of people that are featured on tracks.   Let me just name a few:  Iggy Pop, The Shins’ James Mercer, and The Flaming Lips!  With the album is a book of photography by director, David Lynch.  It is quite the package…and attached to it is a hefty price of $50.00.

Or rather…maybe it is more appropriate to say it was.

“Why” you ask?  An unnamed source from EMI said that there is a dispute between Danger Mouse and EMI–and…well, I don’t think they are coming to an agreement.  In fact, the music may never be officially released.  Notice how I underlined “officially”?  According to The Tripwire and Waxploitation, “the photographs, which provide a visual narrative for the music, are compiled in a limited edition, hand numbered 100+ page book which will now come with a blank, recordable CD-R. All copies will be clearly labeled: ‘For Legal Reasons, enclosed CD-R contains no music. Use it as you will.”

Are you getting what they are hinting at?  It should be clear by now.  Basicaly, if Danger Mouse records this CD and puts it out he could possibly get sued by EMI.  However, he could put out the packaging with a blank CD and allow the customer to do as he or she pleases.  In fact, the music is already showing up on the internet an is available for…free download.  Surprise, surprise!  Hmmmmm.  I wonder what happened.  Especially when the official site for he album is promoting the blank CD-R.  What a sad way to go around being sued.  But hey, if you want to listen without…well, breaking the law – 😉 – you can go here:

It’s pretty rad.  Or, you can just go to some pirate source.  Don’t worry, I won’t judge you.

Here is the tracklisting:Revenge’ (featuring The Flaming Lips)
‘Just War’ (featuring Gruff Rhys)
‘Jaykub’ (featuring Jason Lytle)
‘Little Girl (featuring Julian Casablancas)
‘Angel’s Harp’ (featuring Frank Black)
‘Pain’ (featuring Iggy Pop)
‘Star Eyes (I Can’t Catch It)’ (featuring David Lynch)
‘Everytime I’m With You’ (featuring Jason Lytle)
‘Insane Lullaby’ (featuring James Mercer of The Shins)
‘Daddy’s Gone’ (featuring Nina Persson)
‘The Man Who Played God’ (featuring Suzanne Vega)
‘Grim Augury’ (featuring Vic Chestnutt)
‘Dark Night Of The Soul’ (featuring David Lynch)



  1. one of the sickest ways to self release an album i’ve ever seen

  2. First off, let me say that danger mouse is the frickin man! Secondly, Dark Night of the Soul is an interesting work written by Christian mystic St. John of the Cross. I had to study it in school and I wonder what the connection is to this album…? Anyway, just a random note from your friendly theology major.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: