Posted by: funk. | April 29, 2009

I <3 Bjork

Bjork lookin' good!

Bjork lookin' good!

yup. that IS her.

yup. that IS her.

Yup.  I don’t know if I have posted about her before but she is definitely part of my top 10 artists.  My brother Mike, who is basically a music GOD, got me into her when I was in middle school.  I remember him sitting in the den/guest room blaring music to get away from the holiday hectic-ness and one of the constants that he played was Bjork.  I loved Post so much that he made a copy on a cassette for me fully fitted with a matching cassette cover with the tracks listed.  I should’ve known then that my brother and I were music soulmates—in a sibling-like way, that is.  He continues to be someone I look up to and reach to when I need advice about life or an idea of a hip new band to listen to.

So anyway, Switch did a remix of Bjork‘s “Naturra” and it is pretty hip.  Some people can’t hang with the avante-garde-y Bjork but I feel like this is easy to the ears and good for everyone.  I never have put Bjork in the hip hop category but Switch puts her voice on top of a pretty bumping, thick, hip hop beat that gets your head moving to the beat.  To be honest I didn’t learn much about Switch until listening to this track but…he is a quite the legend.  He is the pioneer of fidget house, has works with the likes of M.I.A., Santigold, and has remixed evereyone from Lily Allen to Basement Jaxx.  Currently he is working with Diplo for the release of the new album set to be in stores mid-July.  Hot damn, he is the shit!

Anyway, here is the track to listen to:

naturra-switch-remix

If you can’t see the track to play go to this link on Hype Machine and just press play.  🙂
Bjork – Naturra (Switch Remix)

Leave a Reply

Categories

