Posted by: funk. | March 6, 2009

Coldplay vs. Joe Satriani

OK–so we all know that Coldplay kicks some serious ass and that the song Living La Vida is beautiful–the strings plus Chris Martin’s voice and the overall producing and mastering is quite a moment.  The first time I heard the song I honestly went straight out and bought the album.  So yeah–done and done–Coldplay is rad.  That is not what this post is about.

Unfortunately, about 2 days after the band swept the Grammys they got accused of STEALING Creaky Boards’ melody–a significantly less known band.  I guess this is the second case but this time the lead guitarist of the band, Joe Satriani, is suing.  Satriani wants money—big money—in fact he wants ALL profits from the alleged infringement.  According to Satriani Coldplay’s Chris Martin stole the melody when he went to see the band at CMJ.

On a personal side note, I had to laugh when I heard that Martin stole the song at a CMJ gig.  I would think that if he was there it would be hard to pick him out in the audience; was he standing bobbing his head in the front?  I mean, would Martin really go to one of those gigs?  Maybe I was at the show since I was at CMJ a few years ago.  Can I be a witness to Chris Martin not being there?

In all honesty I have no idea what a judge will rule.  It is hard for me to believe that a band that has put out countless chart topping cd’s would stoop to stealing a melody.  If it is true–my heart would be broken and I don’t know if Coldplay could ever mend the tears.  From what I know about copyright stuff I know that a certain percentage of the overall song has to be copied in order for it to be infringement—so I am guessing that the melody is enough to have a case…I mean that is pretty significant–right?!?!  I also know that it IS possible for two people to come up with the same melody without either one stealing it–but it is hard.

I guess Satriani basically needs to prove that he came up with that song prior to Coldplay and that Chris Martin has been to a show or something in order to steal the melody.

You be the judge.  It gets pretty questionable at around 50 seconds in the video below of Satriani’s band playing If I Could Fly. Oh yeah, that is the name of their song. See if you hear something quite familiar….


If I Could Fly by Creaky Boards

Viva La Vida by Coldplay

So what’s the verdict??

Responses

  1. I think this was the highest selling album of the whole year! Coldplay did an excellent job of trying to be creative and bring in classical elements for their title track, however, I must admit that their music reminds me Joe Satriani!

  2. IM glad Im backing reading articles so I have the chance to point out coldplay has enough money to check for copying music… or at least give Satriani a litle credit on the back of the cd


Leave a Reply

Categories

